Filmfare Best Villain Award: List


As the award was instituted in 1991, it could not be given to some of the famous Bollywood villains of the preceding decades:

Nana Patekar (l) and Ashutosh Rana (r) hold the record of maximum wins in this category. Category Name Superlative Notes
Most Awards Nana Patekar
Ashutosh Rana
2 awards Awards resulted from 3 nominations
Awards resulted from 2 nominations
Most Nominations Amrish Puri 7 nominations Nominations resulted in 0 awards.
Most Nominations without a Win Amrish Puri 7 nominations

Ashutosh Rana is the only actor to have won the award twice in a row, in 1998 and 1999. Amrish Puri was nominated consecutively for three years from 1991 to 1993. Also, Danny Dengzongpa is the only actor to have been nominated twice in the same year in 1994, although he failed to win.

Priyanka Chopra and Abhishek Bachchan are the only actors to have been nominated in another acting category along with the Best Villain category for the same role. Priyanka Chopra was nominated for her role in Aitraaz in the Best Supporting Actress category. Abhishek Bachchan was nominated as well for Yuva .

In 1997, Kajol became the first female actor to be nominated in this category and win the award for her role in Gupt .She and Priyanka Chopra [Aitraaz] are the only female actor who won this award. Other actresses to have been nominated are Urmila Matondkar for Pyaar Tune Kya Kiya in 2001, Shabana Azmi for Makdee in 2002, Bipasha Basu for Jism in 2003, Preity Zinta for Armaan in 2003 and Amrita Singh for Kalyug in 2005.

Preity Zinta for Armaan in 2003 is the only actor to be nominated for the Best Actress award as well as this award in the same year.

Multiple nominations

The following 14 actors have received multiple Best Villain nominations. The list is sorted by the number of total awards (with the number of total nominations listed in parentheses).

Winners and nominees

In the list below, the winner of the award for each year is shown first, followed by the other nominees. The films are listed by the years when the award was presented.





About Huntas
Copyright @ 2007 Huntas | Huntas! TV Ads |Copyright/IP Policy | Client Speaks